History

    < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 > 
    The Fall of Hitler's Fortress City
    The Battle for Konigsberg, 1945
    By Isabel Denny, Afterword by Dennis Showalter
    (Skyhorse Publishing)
    The harrowing, tragic story of a city and a people ravaged by one of the most brutal battles of World War II. In 1945, in the face of the advancing Red Army, two and a half million people were forced out of Germany’s most easterly province, East Prussia, and in particular its capital, Königsberg. Their... [READ MORE]
    Bulletins from Dallas
    Reporting the JFK Assassination
    By Bill Sanderson
    (Skyhorse Publishing)
    An in-depth look at one of the twentieth century's star reporters and his biggest story. Thanks to one reporter’s skill, we can fix the exact moment on November 22, 1963 when the world stopped and held its breath: At 12:34 p.m. Central Time, UPI White House reporter Merriman Smith broke the news that... [READ MORE]
    In the Crosshairs
    Famous Assassinations and Attempts from Julius Caesar to John Lennon
    By Stephen Spignesi
    (Skyhorse Publishing)
    Assassinations often change the course of history. Here is an intriguing look at dozens of notable assassinations and attempts throughout history, including complete details about the assassin, the victim, the circumstances of the attack, and the outcome. In the Crosshairs also features photos of many... [READ MORE]
    Captain McCrea's War
    The World War II Memoir of Franklin D. Roosevelt’s Naval Aide and USS Iowa’s First Commanding Officer
    By John L. McCrea, Edited by Julia C. Tobey, Foreword by Craig Symonds
    (Skyhorse Publishing)
    World War II from a Leader Who Saw the War from Both the White House and the Bridge of a Battleship Vice Admiral John L. McCrea worked with the president of the United States on difficult and unusual assignments, associated with royalty and world-famous political and military leaders, and he commanded... [READ MORE]
    Hitler's Commando
    The Daring Missions of Otto Skorzeny and the Nazi Special Forces
    By Otto Skorzeny, Foreword by Charles Messenger, Introduction by Dan Raviv
    (Skyhorse Publishing)
    Otto Skorzeny, Germany’s top commando in the Second World War, is one of the most famous men in the history of special forces. His extraordinary wartime career was one of high risk and adventure and here he tells the full story. Skorzeny quickly proved his worth in Yugoslavia and then Russia. In 1942... [READ MORE]
    The Secrets of the Notebook
    A Woman's Quest to Uncover Her Royal Family Secret
    By Eve Haas
    (Arcade Publishing)
    A New York Times bestseller, the true story of a girl who learns she's descended from a princess, told with the suspense of a Cold War thriller. “The beautiful owner of this book is dearer to me than my life – August your protector.” This one sentence was the key to a mystery involving some of the greatest... [READ MORE]
    Night Fighter
    An Insider's Story of Special Ops from Korea to SEAL Team 6
    By William H. Hamilton, By Charles W. Sasser
    (Arcade Publishing)
    For readers of American Sniper, the stirring account of a life of service by the “father of the US Navy SEALs” One month after the Bay of Pigs fiasco, when President John F. Kennedy pressed Congress about America’s “urgent national needs,” he named expanding US special operations forces along with putting... [READ MORE]
    No Time for the Truth
    The Haditha Incident and the Search for Justice
    By Nathaniel R. Helms, By Haytham Faraj
    (Arcade Publishing)
    An Unflinching Look at a Black Chapter in Our War in Iraq and America’s Failure to Serve Justice In the waning days of 2005, twelve Marines were ambushed by Sunni Muslim insurgents on Route Chestnut, an ancient Mesopotamian road at the south edge of Haditha, Iraq, when an IED detonated under one of four... [READ MORE]
    Oscar Wilde's Last Stand
    Decadence, Conspiracy, and the Most Outrageous Trial of the Century
    By Philip Hoare
    (Arcade Publishing)
    A New York Times Notable Book of the Year that Sir Ian McKellen called “a shocking tale of heroes and villains—illuminating and upsetting in equal measure.” The first production of Oscar Wilde’s Salomé in 1918, with American exotic dancer Maud Allan dancing lead, ignited a firestorm in London spearheaded... [READ MORE]
    America at War since 1945
    Politics and Diplomacy in Korea, Vietnam, Iraq, and Afghanistan
    By Gary A. Donaldson
    (Carrel Books)
    Focusing primarily on politics and foreign policy, America at War since 1945 analyzes America's involvement in its several wars since the end of World War II. The main questions asked are: How did the U.S. become involved in these wars? How were the wars conducted? And how did the U.S. get out of these... [READ MORE]
    < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 > 

Back to top