The Battle for Leyte Gulf The Incredible Story of World War II's Largest Naval Battle By C. Vann Woodward, Foreword by Evan Thomas, Foreword by Ian W. Toll
A New York Times Best Seller!

Pulitzer-Prize-winner and bestselling author C. Vann Woodward recreates the gripping account of the battle for Leyte Gulf—the greatest naval battle of World War II and the largest engagement ever fought on the high seas. For the Japanese, it represented their supreme effort; they committed to action virtually every operational fighting ship on the lists of the Imperial Navy, including two powerful new battleships of the Yamato class. It also ended in their greatest defeat—and a tremendous victory for the United States Navy. Features a new introduction by Evan Thomas, author of Sea of Thunder.

Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Arcade imprint, are proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in history--books about World War II, the Third Reich, Hitler and his henchmen, the JFK assassination, conspiracies, the American Civil War, the American Revolution, gladiators, Vikings, ancient Rome, medieval times, the old West, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.
TitleThe Battle for Leyte Gulf
SubtitleThe Incredible Story of World War II's Largest Naval Battle
AuthorBy C. Vann Woodward, Foreword by Evan Thomas, Foreword by Ian W. Toll
PublisherSkyhorse Publishing
ImprintSkyhorse Publishing
Published2 May 2017
Dimensions5.50 x 8.25in.

About the author

C. Vann Woodward was one of the most influential historians of the post-war period. He won a Pulitzer Prize and served on the historical staff of the U.S. Navy during World War II.

Evan Thomas was a reporter, writer, and editor at Newsweek for 24 years, a regular panelist on the weekly public affairs TV show, Inside Washington, for twenty years, and taught writing and journalism at Harvard and Princeton between 2003 and 2014. For seven years, from 2007 to 2014, he was the Ferris Professor of Journalism in residence at Princeton. He is the author of Sea of Thunder: Four Naval Commanders and the Last Sea War.

"So soundly documented that it is hard to see how anyone, ever, will be able to improve on it." –The New York Times

"Masterful"—The New York Review of Books

"An interesting and informative volume."—The American Historical Review
ISBNs: 9781510721340 978-1-5107-2134-0 Title: the battle for leyte gulf category:HIS ISBNs: 9781510721357 978-1-5107-2135-7 Title: the battle for leyte gulf category:HIS 
Back to top