The Last to See Me A Novel By M Dressler
 
Hardback
9781510720671
$22.99
ebook
9781510720688
$24.99
For fans of Lauren Oliver and Kazuo Ishiguro, The Last to See Me is a spellbinding American ghost story deftly weaving past and present into an unforgettable narrative about a young woman's fight for a life of her own—long after her life is over.

Over one hundred years ago, Emma Rose Finnis was born and died in the remote northern California town she now haunts. When she was alive, she was a lowly chambermaid and worse, a Finnis. Now, no one remembers her hardworking life and her grand dreams—because there are none left to remember. In a world where phantoms are considered "unclean," the spirits of her town have already been removed. All except Emma Rose.

But when a determined hunter arrives with instructions to extinguish her once and for all, Emma Rose refuses to be hounded from her haunt, the stately Lambry Mansion. She's earned her place and she’ll keep it—even if it means waging a war on the living. After all, she's got nothing left to lose. The same might not be said for those who still enjoy the luxury of a breath . . .
TitleThe Last to See Me
SubtitleA Novel
AuthorBy M Dressler
PublisherSkyhorse Publishing
ImprintSkyhorse Publishing
Published5 September 2017
FormatHardback
ISBN-139781510720671
Pages272
Dimensions5.50 x 8.25in.

About the author

M Dressler's work has been praised by the New York Times as "splendid" and by Library Journal as the writing of a "natural-born storyteller." She is the critically-acclaimed author of novels, novellas, and essays, and her stories and nonfiction have appeared in the Kenyon Review, Creative Nonfiction, and Lit Hub, among others. Her honors include the Fulbright Fellowship and the Paisano Fellowship in Literature, as well as writing residencies at Hedgebrook and the Carson McCullers Center. She is a professor and current writer-in-residence at Guilford College in North Carolina. She lives in Greensboro, North Carolina and in Moab, Utah.

Praise for M Dressler's The Last to See Me:

"Hauntingly original, provocative, and dashed with wit—this literary ghost story changed the way I see the world." —Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You and Cruel Beautiful World

"This poem of a novel, exquisitely written, introduced me to the inner life of a ghost and held me spellbound throughout. . . . I heard whisperings from the attic, from under the bed. M Dressler has written an extraordinary book, poignant and tragic." —Luanne Rice, New York Times bestselling author of The Beautiful Lost

"M Dressler has created an original world between time and place, but the longings of her characters are very real. She paints exquisite images with her words, each paragraph a revelation. Don’t miss this unusual and wonderful novel." —Carolyn Haines, USA Today bestselling author of the Sarah Booth Delaney mystery series

"Marvelously written . . . A book about how the present and past live in constant tension, how past tragedies still influence our lives today." —Jeff Abbott, New York Times bestselling author of Blame

"The Last to See Me is a riveting supernatural duel that reveals itself one measured and lyrical gut punch at a time. A compelling and beautifully written page-turner."—Scott Hawkins, author of The Library at Mount Char

"Readers will be ensnared and entranced by this story." —Wendy Webb, bestselling author of The Fate of Mercy Alban

"A new way to think about place, alienation, and the yearnings that make ghosts of us all. This is a writer working at the height of her powers." —W. Scott Poole, Bram Stoker Award nominee and author of In the Mountains of Madness: The Life and Extraordinary Afterlife of H. P. Lovecraft

"Dressler weaves a suspenseful ghost story that explores love in many dimensions—both spiritual and of the human heart." —April Smith, author of Home Sweet Home

“Completely captivating, The Last to See Me is the most original take on the ghost story since The Others." —Lauren A. Forry, author of Abigale Hall

The Last to See Me is the most original ghost story I've read in years. It's both a thrilling tale and a bold condemnation of moral tyranny—a tyranny that fires the spirit of a brave, vulnerable young woman even after death. I couldn't stop reading until I turned the last shocking page. Exquisite and terrifying." —Laura Benedict, Edgar-nominated author of the Bliss House novels

“Love, longing, fear, hope—the common threads of mortal experience weave themselves through Dressler's exquisite story of an ordinary life that reaches extraordinary proportions. The Last to See Me is a ghost story that's deeply human, rich with wonder at all that makes even the most invisible life profound." —Margo Catts, author of Among the Lesser Gods

Praise for M Dressler's writing:

"A natural-born storyteller." —Library Journal

"Splendid." —The New York Times

"Elegantly imagined, original, finely tuned work." —The Miami Herald

"Captures both heartbreak and hope, wrapped in careful language that is crystalline in its clarity." —The Denver Post

"Dressler signals that she sets out to write, not just to tell, a story." —The Houston Chronicle

ISBNs: 9781510720688 978-1-5107-2068-8 Title: the last to see me category:FIC ISBNs: 9781510720671 978-1-5107-2067-1 Title: the last to see me category:FIC 
Back to top