We're Doing It Wrong 25 Ideas in Education That Just Don't Work—And How to Fix Them David Michael Slater
 
Paperback
9781510725614
$12.99
An unapologetic critique of major flaws in the American education system. David Michael Slater’s We’re Doing It Wrong is a thought-provoking dissection of the issues plaguing American public schools. Each chapter identifies a major problem in the education system, exploring its roots and repercussions. A teacher himself, Slater opens up and gives readers an insider’s perspective on topics that have been at the center of ongoing debates as well as recent hot button issues, such as:
  • Standardized testing
  • Teacher evaluation practices
  • Helicopter parents
  • Class size
  • Poverty’s effect on performance
  • Anti-bullying programs
  • Writing proficiency
  • Curriculum goals
  • Slater explains why our current approaches simply aren’t working—for students, for teachers, for the colleges that these students may eventually attend, and for society at-large. Unafraid to ruffle a few feathers, We’re Doing It Wrong highlights defects in policy and theory, calls out administration, and questions long-held beliefs. Every chapter concludes with a suggestion for improvement, offering light at the end of the tunnel. Administrators, teachers, and concerned parents will come away with a better understanding of the current state of education and ideas for moving toward progress—for themselves and for the students they support.
    TitleWe're Doing It Wrong
    Subtitle25 Ideas in Education That Just Don't Work—And How to Fix Them
    AuthorDavid Michael Slater
    PublisherSkyhorse Publishing
    ImprintSkyhorse Publishing
    Published2 January 2018
    FormatPaperback
    ISBN-139781510725614
    Pages120
    Dimensions5.50 x 8.50in.

    About the author

    David Michael Slater is a veteran middle and high school teacher who was named the City of Beaverton, Oregon’s Educator of the Year in 2012. He is also an acclaimed author of more than twenty books for children, teens, and adults. David teaches in Reno, Nevada, where he lives with his wife and son.

    “Fans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson, and Augusten Burroughs will crown David Michael Slater their new king.” —New York Journal of Books, review of Slater’s Fun & Games (2016)
    ISBNs: 9781510725614 978-1-5107-2561-4 Title: were doing it wrong category:EDU 
    Back to top