The Past Is Never A Novel By Tiffany Quay Tyson
 
Hardback
9781510726826
$24.99
ebook
9781510726833
$24.99
A compelling addition to contemporary Southern Gothic fiction, deftly weaving together local legends, magical realism, and the search for a missing child.
Siblings Bert, Willet, and Pansy know better than to go swimming at the old rock quarry. According to their father, it's the Devil's place, a place that's been cursed and forgotten. But Mississippi Delta summer days are scorching hot and they can't resist cooling off in the dark, bottomless water. Until the day six-year-old Pansy vanishes. Not drowned, not lost . . . simply gone. When their father disappears as well, Bert and Willet leave their childhoods behind to try and hold their broken family together.
Years pass with no sign, no hope of ever finding Pansy alive, and as surely as their mother died of a broken heart, Bert and Willet can't move on. So when clues surface drawing them to the remote tip of Florida, they drop everything and drive south. Deep in the murky depths of the Florida Everglades they may find the answer to Pansy's mysterious disappearance . . . but truth, like the past, is sometimes better left where it lies.
Perfect for fans of Flannery O'Connor and Dorothy Allison, The Past Is Never is an atmospheric, haunting story of myths, legends, and the good and evil we carry in our hearts.
TitleThe Past Is Never
SubtitleA Novel
AuthorBy Tiffany Quay Tyson
PublisherSkyhorse Publishing
ImprintSkyhorse Publishing
Published6 March 2018
FormatHardback
ISBN-139781510726826
Pages304
Dimensions6.00 x 9.00in.

About the author

Tiffany Quay Tyson’s writing has been compared to Southern fiction titans like Flannery O'Connor and her first book, Three Rivers (Thomas Dunne, 2015), was a finalist for the Mississippi Institute for Arts and Letters Award for Fiction and also the Colorado Book Award for Literary Fiction. Though she grew up in Mississippi, she now resides in Denver, CO., where she teaches writing at the renowned Lighthouse Writers Workshop.

"You hold in your hands Stranger Things but with a satisfying ending. In the sort of cleanly tuned prose that makes another fiction writer happy, Tyson penetrates your imagination with characters and places so real they feel like your own suppressed memories. I'll never look at the Everglades the same way again."—Carrie La Seur, award-winning author of The Home Place
ISBNs: 9781510726833 978-1-5107-2683-3 Title: the past is never category:FIC ISBNs: 9781510726826 978-1-5107-2682-6 Title: the past is never category:FIC 
Back to top